Blog Archive

Contact Me




Created by Templates Zoo

Author Katie Mettner

New Release ~ Accidental Lies ~ Dana Mason

A big congratulations to my good friend Dana Mason on release of her new book, Accidental Lies today! I got to read this one early and I loved it! Read on for my review!

Accidental Lies on Amazon (Part of KU)

A blissful week on the beautiful island of Maui is exactly what I need…
I haven’t got away in years.
Not since the tragedy that’s overshadowed my life.
Not since my heart cracked into two.
But when I finally take the plunge, what happens?
I get locked out of my hotel room.

The first person I lay eyes on is a golden-eyed guy who’s all kinds of rugged.
Rugged in a dirty-sex kind of way.
The best kind.
Chocolate-brown hair, sun-kissed skin, a sexy dimpled smile.
A built body that I want to run my hands all over.
And that takes me by surprise.
He’s the first man that’s caught my eye in a long, long time.
I’ve never been able to get past the pain that haunts me.
But this man makes me think I might be able to forget.

Four cocktails later, our chemistry is hotter than the Hawaiian sun.
We’re pressed against each other in an elevator.
Soaking wet after being caught in a tropical storm.
I’m moaning in his arms, hands fisting his hair.
Then we spend the rest of our vacation unwinding and undressing…

We have just two rules:
No talking about our lives back home, and this is just a fling.
That means I can’t tell him about the heartbreak I fight every single day.
I can’t reveal my secret.
But when the sun sets on our trip, can we bring ourselves to say goodbye?
I have a feeling he’ll be tempted to break the rules.
The question is, after years of shielding my heart, will I be able to let him in?
And even if I do, will I want him when I find out who he really is?

This is a full-length, standalone romance with some hot-under-the-collar action, no cheating and a guaranteed HEA. For fans of R.S Grey, Whitney G. and Vi Keeland, Accidental Lies features a hot AF alpha and a sizzling will-they-won’t-they love story that will have you totally addicted!

Read the First Five Chapters

We meet Emily in the first book and I was immediately curious about her story. Dana did not disappoint in the tales she told! Emily is a flawed, damaged, heartbroken woman who definitely needs to get away from her life for a little while. She begrudgingly goes to a resort for a week and immediately meets a man who stirs something inside her. She has been dead inside since the death of her husband four years earlier, so the fact that he made her feel that way surprised her.

They enjoy dinner and from there decide a vacation fling is okay, as long as they don't talk about their real lives. She doesn't want to talk about her dead husband and Drew doesn't want to talk about his kids or his dead wife. This is where the lies come in. To be fair, they aren't accidental in the way they are told, they are purposeful, but for a reason. I think we all have a fantasy of being someone we aren't, even for just a few days. Emily and Drew did this, but it caused them more problems than they could ever have predicted.

I loved the characters and the setting of Accidental Lies. I think the characters had the right amount of depth and you watched Emily grow from being sad and afraid to strong and resilient. This was a hot and sexy book with a serious side that you'll love. It's important to not take the title overly literal because focusing on that will only keep you from grasping the true depth of the story. I like how Dana let us see Mac and Kelley from the first book again a little bit, but if you haven't read the first book, you can easily read this one and not be confused. I can't wait for the third book in this series!

Accidental Lies on Amazon (Part of KU)

Dana Mason started writing about ten years ago after being overwhelmed by a story that wouldn't let her sleep until she wrote it down. The story, Dangerous Embrace, was published in 2012 and won Best Mystery/Suspense from eFestival of Words Best of Independent eBook Awards in 2014.
Dangerous Embrace is the first book in her Embrace Series. The second book in the series, Precious Embrace, was Runner-Up for Best Hero from eFestival of Words Best of Independent eBook Awards that same year. Her third book, Broken Embrace, was awarded Best Indie Book in 2015 in the Romance Category. Dana loves turning your worst nightmares into happy endings. She lives in Northern California with her husband, children, and her writing companion and mighty protector, Mia the Chihuahua.

How To Find Dana:

Book one in the series is also available in Kindle Unlimited! If you haven't read Mac and Kelley's story be sure to read this one too! You don't have to read it first in order to read Accidental Lies, but it was a great book I blew through in one day :)

No comments