Blog Archive

Contact Me




Created by Templates Zoo

Author Katie Mettner

Accidental Secrets ~ Dana Mason

My good friend Dana Mason releases third in her Accidental Love Series today! I love this contemporary romance series and you will too. The entire series, Accidental Groom, Accidental Lies, and Accidental Secrets are part of Kindle Unlimited!

She’s been hiding something from him. Until now…

He was my childhood sweetheart.
Then it all went wrong and my mom tore us apart.
Ever since then I’ve kept my secret.
I haven’t had a choice.
Fourteen years later, just thinking about him makes my stomach flip.
I still remember his citrus smell, the way he used to gently hold my hand.
And then… It turns out he’s living in the same damn town.
But he’s not the Mike I remember.
He’s dark and dangerous, covered in ink.
He’s completely and utterly mouth-watering.
His whiskey-colored eyes blaze as he catches sight of me.
And it’s just a matter of time before he finds out the truth…
The question is, will he forgive me?

She was my ride or die.
And she left without even saying goodbye.
Left me with nothing but a broken heart.
Since then, I’ve struggled to get close to anyone.
It’s pathetic – who else clings to their high-school love?
And then, all these years later, I see her.
But Rachel’s not how I remember.
Her wavy, raven hair frames her sexy sea-blue eyes.
Her perfect hourglass figure has curves in all the right places.
She’s pin-up girl hot. And I refuse to let her get away this time.
Next thing, we’re in suite 108.
I’m unbuttoning her blouse, tasting every inch of her.
She’s screaming in pleasure.
She’s begging for more.
Everything’s perfect.
Except for one thing…
She’s hiding one hell of a secret.
And when I find out what it is, do I have it in me to forgive her?
Or will I be the one walking away without a goodbye this time?

I’ve always been a Dana Mason fan and Accidental Secrets was the perfect ending to a wonderful contemporary romance series. We got a short peek at Mike’s life in the first book, Accidental Groom, and I’m so glad that Dana came back and wrote his story!

Mike lost Rachel, his high school sweetheart, without explanation or discussion when she moved to a different state out of the blue at sixteen. The reason? She was pregnant with Mike’s baby and her mother, or The Witch, as I started calling her, basically destroyed three people’s lives; Rachel’s, Mike’s and their child’s. Rachel wasn’t allowed to tell Mike or contact him after the baby was born. It wasn’t until their daughter, Reagan, turned thirteen and started snooping around on the internet that she was able to finally figure out who her father was. Now living in the same town and opening a gym there, Reagan sends cryptic emails to him (Which I actually found cute and endearing).

When Rachel finds out what Reagan did, all hell breaks loose and she knows she has to tell Mike before he finds out some other way. To say the chemistry between them was still on fire was an understatement.

When push comes to shove, Mike knows he wants to spend time with his daughter, even if he’s angry at her mother for keeping her a secret for so many years. He wants to form a family unit with Reagan and be there to support her. First, he has to convince Rachel to let him meet her. Little does he know, he already has.

Accidental Secrets was a twisted and sad look at how families often do things for themselves instead of for the betterment of someone else. Rachel’s mother is the perfect example of someone who is protecting herself and not her daughter or granddaughter. I did find it difficult to swallow how much Rachel was still devoted to her family considering how they treated her. At the same time, I understood she needed that familial unit, even with its flaws, to help her take care of her daughter as a single mom who worked full-time.

In the end, the romance between Mike and Rachel won me over and getting to hear from all of their POV’s was refreshing. It gave me insight into their emotions as they all went through the same experience but for different reasons. Mike was just learning he had a daughter, Rachel was learning how to share her daughter, and Reagan was learning how to trust a father. Thank you, Dana, for a wonderful series about love, romance, family, and happily-ever-afters!

Dana Mason started writing about ten years ago after being overwhelmed by a story that wouldn't let her sleep until she wrote it down. The story, Dangerous Embrace, was published in 2012 and won Best Mystery/Suspense from eFestival of Words Best of Independent eBook Awards in 2014.
Dangerous Embrace is the first book in her Embrace Series. The second book in the series, Precious Embrace, was Runner-Up for Best Hero from eFestival of Words Best of Independent eBook Awards that same year. Her third book, Broken Embrace, was awarded Best Indie Book in 2015 in the Romance Category. Dana loves turning your worst nightmares into happy endings. She lives in Northern California with her husband, children, and her writing companion and mighty protector, Mia the Chihuahua.

How To Find Dana:

1 comment

Dana Mason said...

Katie, thank you so much for this wonderful review! I'm glad you liked it!